Maximum number of cars added to compare list.

What's your postcode?

We need your postcode in order to provide accurate search results.


Enter your first name
Enter your last name
Enter your phone number

Got a part exchange?

Tell us your reg plate and receive a part exchange valuation on your car?

What's this?

Compare cars side by side to save time clicking backwards and forwards between them.

The British Grand Prix 2016Back

British Grand PrixThe British Grand Prix at Silverstone is already underway! The event is the most high-profile event on the UK motorsports calendar and the 10th race of the 21-round 2016 Formula 1 World Championship.

British fans will be lining up to see if Lewis Hamilton can lift the famous Royal Automobile Club Trophy for the third successive year, while also looking out for outstanding performance from other British drivers, Jenson Button and Jolyon Palmer.

Furthermore, there are a number of up-and-coming young British drivers competing in the weekend’s sports races that are well worth a look in. Fresh from their podium lockout in Austria, Jordan King (22), Alex Lynn (22) and Oliver Rowland (23) will be in action in the GP2 Series, while Jack Aitken (20), Jake Dennis (21), Jake Hughes (22) and Matt Parry (22) are frontrunners in GP3.

Meanwhile 11 of the 32 Porsche Supercup drivers are British and King, Lynn, Dennis, Parry and Yelloly will all be representing the MSA’s Team UK national squad with their MSA Academy Performance Managers on hand to coach them throughout the weekend.

Below, Reuters list some facts and statistics about the British Grand Prix at Silverstone:

  • Mercedes have won the last three British Grands Prix, Hamilton the last two.
  • Hamilton is chasing his fourth win in Britain. The only British drivers to have done that are Jim Clark (1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967)GrandPrix and Nigel Mansell (1986, 1987, 1991, 1992).
  • Mansell is the only British driver to have won four times at Silverstone.
  • Pole is not a significant advantage, historically. Only five times in the last 20 races has the quickest driver in qualifying gone on to win. But every winner has started from fourth or higher since 2000.
  • McLaren’s Jenson Button, the most experienced driver on the starting grid, has never stood on the podium at his home race in 16 attempts.
  • Five current drivers have won at Silverstone: Rosberg (2013), Hamilton (2008, 2014, 2015), Alonso (2006, 2011), Vettel (2009) and Raikkonen (2007).
  • Champions Mercedes have won 40 of the last 47 races and eight of this season’s nine.
  • Triple world champion Lewis Hamilton has 46 career victories. The Briton is third in the all-time lists, behind Michael Schumacher (91) and Alain Prost (51), and four ahead of Ferrari’s four-times champion Sebastian Vettel.
  • After Austria, Hamilton has now won at 22 different circuits. Schumacher holds the record of 23 and Hamilton can equal that if he wins in Mexico or Brazil later this year.
  • McLaren’s Fernando Alonso has 32 wins, Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen 20, Nico Rosberg 19 and McLaren’s Jenson Button 15.
  • Championship leader Rosberg, winner of five races so far this season, has more victories than any other non-champion in the history of the sport.
  • Ferrari have won 224 races in total, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 53, Red Bull 51. McLaren last won in 2012.
  • Pole Position
  • Mercedes have been on pole in 44 of the last 47 races and all but one of this season’s grands prix.
  • Hamilton has 54 career poles and is third on the all-time lists, behind Schumacher (68) and Ayrton Senna (65). Vettel has 46, Rosberg 20.


Posted by Leana Kell on 08/07/2016