Maximum number of cars added to compare list.

What's your postcode?

We need your postcode in order to provide accurate search results.


Enter your first name
Enter your last name
Enter your phone number

Got a part exchange?

Tell us your reg plate and receive a part exchange valuation on your car?

What's this?

Compare cars side by side to save time clicking backwards and forwards between them.

What Car? to name Britain’s safest carBack

WhatCarPopular online buyer’s guide, What Car? has announced it is to name Britain’s safest car.

What Car? and Thatcham Research Centre will announce the UK’s safest car launched this year at its annual Car of the Year Awards ceremony in January 2015.

The brand new Safety Award will only be presented to cars that have achieved the full five stars from Euro NCAP crash tests. To gain the full five stars, vehicles must be fitted with Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) and be available for buyers to purchase in the UK from January 7th 2015.

Short-listed contenders for this award will also be assessed against a list of stringent safety elements provided by Euro NCAP to include Adult Occupant Protection, Safety Assist and Child Occupant Protection as well as safety innovations such as new collision avoidance technologies.

Potential winners of this prestigious new accolade include modeal such as the Tesla Model S, Merecedes-Benz C-Class, Nissan Qashqai and VW Golf Sportsvan. For details of the full list click here.

The potential challengers include the Tesla Model S, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Nissan Qashqai, and VW Golf Sportsvan. The full list can be viewed here.

The top three cars will be selected by Thatcham Research Centre and an independent panel of safety experts, before being announced at the What Car? Car of the Year Awards in London on Wednesday 7th January.

What Car? editor Jim Holder said: “When people are looking to buy a car, there are certain requirements that they will automatically have in their minds. Among the foremost of these is safety, especially if they are planning to use the vehicle to transport their family.

“We felt it was only right that such an important consideration in the car-buying process is reflected in our Car of the Year Awards.

“It will also be a chance for us to celebrate and applaud the work that manufacturers do and the lengths they go to in order to make sure that the cars we drive keep us as safe as possible.”

Euro NCAP has recently announced that from January 2016, it will be introducing a new two-tier star system whereby vehicles will only gain the maximum crash test ratings if they sport the most advanced crash avoidance systems. Only if manufacturers are able to make this type of technology standard across all new cars might they be able to bypass the new system.

For more information on Euro NCAP safety standards from 2016, click here.



Posted by Leana Kell on 27/11/2014